skip to content
Texas Holocaust and Genocide Commission

Friends of THGC Outstanding Educator Award

The application period for the
5th Annual Steinberger Award has opened.

The Texas Holocaust and Genocide Commission (THGC) is firmly committed to supporting efforts to teach the next generation about the Holocaust and/or genocides in the Ottoman Empire (Armenians), Cambodia, Rwanda, the Balkans, Sudan (Darfur), and the Middle East (Iraq and Syria).

In 2021, the THGC will present a monetary award of $1,000 to one educator who demonstrates a record of excellence in engaging any of the aforementioned subjects with Texas students (grades 6-12). Librarians, curriculum specialists, and classroom teachers in any discipline are eligible to apply. This award is funded by the Friends of Texas Holocaust and Genocide Commission 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

Dr. Steinberger is a Holocaust survivor and served as a founding member of the Texas Holocaust and Genocide Commission. She retired from the University of Texas Medical School in 2001, but has continued to demonstrate a commitment to education in Texas.

Download our flyer for a reference to details.


2021 Steinberger Award Application Form

if applicable
Describe your curriculum on Holocaust/genocides, explain why you chose it, and indicate how you assess student performance. (maximum 1500 words)
What is the biggest challenge you have faced in teaching about the Holocaust/genocides, and how did you respond to it? (maximum 750 words)
Explain why you teach about the Holocaust/genocides and provide some details of how your teaching has affected one or more of your students. (maximum 1500 words)

Past Steinberger Award Winners